Quick Weekly Breakfasts and Lunches

Easter weekend was so busy and I didn’t even have time to make my weekly grocery store run. Well to be honest, I didn’t make the time to do my weekly grocery store run. I usually plan out my next week’s meals on Friday, shop on Saturday and do any meal prep on Sunday. This helps me spread out the load and not feel overwhelmed on one day. So failing to do any of those three things over the weekend led to an overwhelming Monday.

I spent my lunch break at La Madeline (love their tuna croissant) figuring out what to eat for the rest of the week. I knew it had to be something easy to make because I had to do the shopping and prep all before my church small group that night. I wasn’t worried about dinner because I keep some staples in my pantry and freezer, so I started with breakfast. I needed something filling and healthy that I could grab easily in the morning. I remembered seeing a pin a Pinterest about freezing smoothies and went through my boards to find it. You can find the Buzzfeed article here. With breakfast sorta figured out, I moved on to lunch. I decided I would throw together some quick buffalo chicken wraps and call it a day.

I went to the store and remembered that Jamba Juice had some pre-made frozen smoothie packs in the freezer section. While looking for those, I found the Rader Farms Fresh Start smoothie packs that looked much better so I grabbed those. I want to eventually use fresh fruit, but I had no time to figure it all out this week.

Once I got home, I was ready to start making stuff.

IMG_20160328_172912075

I pulled out my blender and dumped a package of frozen fruit and vegetables into it. I measured out a cup of the juice to put in and it leaked everywhere! Apparently, I put the blender together wrong. I cleaned it up and was up and running in no time. I made two of the Mango, Nectarine, Sweet Potato & Carrot smoothies and two of the Blueberry, Strawberry, Raspberry, Kale &  Spinach smoothies.

IMG_20160328_174443962

I put the smoothies in mason jars with enough room to expand and put them in the freezer.

Now it was time to start on lunch.

IMG_20160328_174544556

I love the flatout wraps. They are great for easy work lunches. I laid one of them down on plastic wrap and spread the buffalo sauce on it. I estimated about one tablespoon, but didn’t actually measure it out.

IMG_20160328_175156020

Then I added my veggies. I decided to go with spinach and carrots, but some chopped celery would work well too.

IMG_20160328_175241875

Then came the chicken and one slice of Provolone cheese. I would have loved to add more cheese, but that gets expensive calorie wise.

IMG_20160328_175328743_HDR

Then I rolled it up tightly in plastic wrap and repeated the process three more times. In less than an hour, I had four smoothies in the freezer and four wraps in the fridge. Not bad if you ask me!

IMG_20160328_180233153

Before bed last night, I stuck one of the Mango smoothies in the fridge. This morning all I had to do was grab the smoothie and a wrap from the fridge. The smoothie was like a slushie and was super yummy. One of my co workers said it looked like a peach daiquiri.

What are some of your favorite quick to make breakfast and lunches?

Leave a Reply

