2017 Word & January Small Goals

Hello 2017 and World of the Internet. It has been a while! I took a long break from blogging this fall for a few reasons. The biggest being that my life seemed to be spiraling a bit and I needed to figure some stuff out. The good news is that I have done that for the most part and am now back to a place where I can write and post things again.

So since, I have not posted any small goals for a few months, I figure I’ll make this my 2017 and January goals.

First 2017! I can’t believe it is already a new year. I’m hoping for some big things this year, some of which are out of my control so we will see. I have decided to make too many specific goals/resolutions for 2017. I have chosen a word for this year though! That word is focus. I have found that recently my life has lacked focus. I have just been going through life hoping and wishing that things will happen to me. I really haven’t had a focus and it has taken a toll on me.

Here are some of the things I am going to focus on:

  • Focus on God and His plan for me
  • Focus on building my career
  • Focus on who I am as a person and not as a relation
  • Focus on my budget
  • Focus on my health
  • Focus on being joyful through everything

So now on to specific goals for January:

  1. Start Blogging Again: I have missed blogging. I never had a ton of followers, but it has been a nice outlet and I look forward to doing it again. I am going to try to post more consistently and get stuff done ahead of time (I am working on this post on Sunday to publish on Monday).
  2. Start Hockey Wednesday: This is something I have had in the works for a while, but I really want to dedicate a weekly post to hockey. I am working on a Hockey 101 series that I am hoping to start this month.
  3. Stick to Budget and Pay Off A Credit Card: This is a big one. Budgets are easy in theory, but when that cute outfit you have been wanting stares at you in the face, budgets seem to be forgotten. I do have a budget laid out and I have scheduled the last payment on one my credit cards.
  4. Cut Out Carbs: This is another big one. I have gained a lot of weight at the end of the year and it is not good for my health. I can feel how unhealthy my body is. One of my good friends cut out carbs and has had a lot of success, so I am going to lean onhere for help with this.
  5. Start Scripture Journaling: I found the Intentional Planner, through Molly of Still Being Molly and I knew I had to have one. I got one and plan on using the Scripture Journaling part everyday. I really want to seek God’s purpose and plan for my life this year, so this is a good start.

So there you go! I am hoping that my few readers will keep me accountable to these goals and focuses. Please reach out and ask how I am doing on my goals for the  month.

Just like I used to, I am linking up with Nicole over at Writes Like A Girl and the rest of the goal setting bloggers!

Comment below with some of your goals or tips for any of mine!

7 thoughts on “2017 Word & January Small Goals

  1. Focus is such a great word, and I love how you’re already incorporating it into your monthly small goals. Excited for you to keep linking up with goals this year, and to see how focus improves your life in 2017!

  2. I love your word! I could definitely use a little more focus in my life, FOR SURE. My husband and I have been budgeting for about a year now, and it’s helped sooooo much! There are some months that I go over in some categories (makeup and clothes!) but it has helped us zero in on where we can save money, and what we need to pay off. 2017 is the year of paying off debt for us as well. I wish you lots of luck!

  3. Focus is a great word and something we could all use a little reminder to do throughout the year. I love your specifics that you highlighted to really hone in on during 2017. Your small goals are great and I can’t wait to finish up my first go around!

  4. I’m so glad you’re back to blogging. I love the thoughts about focus, especially focusing on who you are as a person, not a relation. Someone once asked me to describe myself without using any relational words. It was an eye-opening experience to see how much I defined myself by who I was to others. Great goals! Love you!

Leave a Reply

