Wednesday Reviews: Putting On My Face

You may remember that one of my February Small Goals was to post once a week. In order to help with that, I have decided to start a new series called Wednesday Reviews. I will be reviewing some products I am using at the time of the review. For now, these products are ones that I buy on my own and choose to share my opinions, however, I do get a small commission if you make a purchase through the links provided.

This week I wanted to talk about some of the products I use on my face on a daily basis. First, let me tell you a bit about the type of skin that I have so you can use that as a reference point when looking at these reviews. I have combination skin which means that it is oily in some places and dry in others. I have light skin with cool undertones and quite a bit of redness.I find that being aware of my skin’s features helps me make better decisions about how to care for it.

master-prime

The first thing I put on my face after cleansing and moisturizing in the morning is face primer. Lately, I have been using Maybelline’s FaceStudio Master Prime Blur + Redness Contorl Primer. They have different varieties. This one is to use for blur and redness control. I have to say I am pretty neutral about it. It is lightweight and does not feel oily on my skin. I have a hard time telling just how much it reduces the redness in my face. I found myself still really needing a finishing spray to keep my make-up in place through out my work day. At only $9.99, I did not expect it to be perfect. I would probably buy it again if I don’t find something that works better at that price point.

foundation-concealer

I used to use Urban Decay foundation, but with my new budget, I had to start using something a little less pricey. I’ve tried a couple different foundations before settling on this e.l.f Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain. I like the quality of e.l.f products and the price can’t be beat. This foundation provides great coverage without being too heavy on my face. I use an off brand blending sponge off Amazon to put it on. Then, I use this NYX Above & Beyond Full Coverage Concealer. It blends really well into the foundation with my mini blender. It is also lightweight and covers up imperfections without looking caked on.

fixing-spray

My last beauty share is this Makeup Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Fixing Spray. The first time I saw this brand and the low price, I was intrigued. I tried the fixing spray and was pretty happy with it. I like that it helps keep my skin from feeling oily through out the day as well as keeping my make up on my face. It feels good on my skin when I spray it on and it dries pretty quickly. I don’t know that I would say it lasts 12 hours as the bottle claims, but it keeps for at least the 9-10 hours I’m at work.

So there is my thoughts and opinions on those products. Let me know if there is another type of product you would like me to review.

One thought on “Wednesday Reviews: Putting On My Face

Leave a Reply

